Home Autos The Common Types and Classification of Forklifts

The Common Types and Classification of Forklifts

10 min read

These days, when it comes to choices in forklifts, fleet managers have so many more choices than ever. These smart machines or vehicles help with material handling tasks to businesses. In terms of the types, there are internal combustion (ICE) forklifts, electric forklifts, order pickers, scissor lifts, aerial lifts, and so many other varieties of forklift attachments.

As you read on below, this article will explain all the different types of industrial powered trucks (such as Class I- Class VII), using the recognized classifications by OSHA. As a dealer in used moffett forklift for sale, you can identify all the advantages of each forklift type and learn more about the suitable classification for each one of them.

Types and Classification of Forklifts

Electric Motor Rider Trucks (Class I)

As their name suggests, these trucks use an electric motor and industrial batteries to operate. They are a preferred choice for applications where the fuel fumes and air quality remain a major concern. Today, most class one forklifts are suitable for use indoors with cushion tires, which come with the best designs suitable for use on smoother indoor floors.

Such forklifts have pneumatic tires, which are ideal to use in outdoor applications. Bobby Park forklifts include a wide variety of stand up riders to the sit-down style models that come with a lifting capacity of about 8,000lbs or sometimes even more.

Since electric forklifts come with electric batteries, they do not have a loud noise than their internal combustion equivalents. They also produce no form of emissions. For this precise reason, you will usually see electric forklifts for indoor applications such as handling pallets and tractor-trailers.

Electric Motor Narrow Aisle Trucks (Class II)

Yes, narrow aisle trucks are ideal for narrow aisles. Usually, the operations that require maximizing their storage spaces use narrow aisle handling equipment for materials such as order pickers and reach trucks to move the inventory and handle the pallets. Such class lift trucks also require minimal space to operate and electric motors power them.

Electric Motor Hand Trucks or Hand/Rider Trucks (Class III)

Pallet jacks and hand trucks come with unique designs to lift any form of load just a few inches away from the ground. Usually, they come with a walkie (walk-behind) and other rider models. Such lift trucks easily unload delivery trucks and they are suitable for small warehouses and unloading delivery trucks.

Most often, the weight capacities for these forklifts (hand truck) can range from about 2,000-8,000 lbs. However, before you seal the deal, it is advisable that you consult product experts regarding the specifications of the electric pallet jack.

READ  Top 7 Significant Tips Necessary to Choose Auto Insurance Company

Internal Combustion Engine (ICE) Trucks (Class IV)

Usually, the class IV internal combustion engines use special cushion tires that come with unique designs to use on smooth floors and indoors. They have the capacity to handle any amount of load from 3,000 to about 15,000 lbs. It allows the operator to sit down when operating the machine and it uses liquid propane or fuel. However, diesel is also an option.

Although electric forklifts remain a common, choice for use indoors, their operation is not limited to their space, or limited to their recharge time, recharging section, and you could choose a class 4-lift truck.

Internal Combustion Engine Trucks (Class V)

In many ways, you should know that the class V forklift is a lot similar to the class IV forklift; however, it has different tires. Keep in mind that a class V truck would use pneumatic tires, which come with unique designs suitable for outdoor use on rough terrains. These forklifts often use CNG (Compressed Natural Gas), gasoline fuel or diesel LPG.

The lifting capacity of these can range from about 3,000 to 55,000 lbs. With their power, they stand out as suitable forklifts for unloading and loading large containers (as much as 40ft).

Internal and Electric Combustion Engine Tractors (Class VI)

The class VI trucks also go by the name tuggers or tow tractors; they tow a load rather than lift it. The capacities often range from 3,000 to 6,000 lbs. These tractors have internal or electric combustion engines and they are ideal for use both outdoors and indoors.

Rough Terrain Forklifts (Class VII)

Such forklifts are usually in use at construction sites or lumberyards. They tend to use massive tires and they are equipped with telescoping masts. For this particular reason, it is necessary that the people handling the equipment go through special training to operate the truck.

Usually, these trucks come with a lifting capacity of about 6,000 to 12,000 lbs and sometimes more. They are diesel powered and rarely used when material handling applications arise.

This guide should be the right one you need for knowing everything about the various types of forklifts and their classification. However, if you are not sure about the options and the best ones you should choose, it is advisable that you consult experienced dealers or sales experts.

Load More Related Articles
Load More In Autos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Four shopping rules of buying tyres for luxury vehicles

Car owners can’t ignore the importance of possessing a good pair of tyres. It’s actually t…